Carrot almond soup

I think I have already mentioned this before, soups to me, bring such a sense of warmth and comfort. I love keeping my soups thick and creamy. I know a lot of people like it thin. I like it too, but I prefer my soups to be really thick and creamy, especially this soup. Carrots are hands down my favourite vegetables. They’re so sweet, I wonder why they’re not fruits!

This soup is one of my favourite. The almond not only brings thickness to the soup, but also give the soup a very rounded taste to the soup. It gives such a wholesome meal feeling to it. I normally have this soup with some toasted garlic bread and by that I mean nothing fancy, just some regular white bread, toasted with some garlic butter on top. And by garlic butter I mean smashed garlic left to infuse in some warm butter. You can leave it in the fridge to harden and then soften it again, or just use the melted butter. I like both.

Screenshot_20181119-212943__01

For the soup, first sauté some chopped ginger, garlic, onion/ leeks and some almonds.

Add in the carrots and let it caramelise.

Pour in the water, and let it boil for a few minutes. with the lid on, let it cook for 30-40 minutes.

Once everything is cooks, and the water has reduced to half, blend the mix with a hand blender till you get a smooth puree. At this point you can strain it for that extra smoothness.

Adjust the seasoning, some pepper and add more water if you want your soup thinner.

Serve with some toasted garlic bread

Recipe

Carrots- 2, chopped
Almonds- 10 unpeeled almonds
Leek (Or Onions)- 1/4 cup, chopped
Ginger paste- 1 teaspoon
Garlic, chopped – 1 tablespoon
Rosemary- 1-2 sprigs

For the soup, Sauté some chopped ginger, garlic, onion/ leeks and some almonds. Add in the carrots and sauté for a few minutes till it caramelises. Pour in 3 cups  water, and let it boil for a few minutes. with the lid on, let it cook for 30-40 minutes. Once everything is cooks, and the water has reduced to half, blend the mix with a hand blender till you get a smooth puree. Strain if you need to. Adjust the seasoning.

Serve with some garlic bread or toasted croutons.

Leave a comment