Banoffee Pie

Going bananas for bananas!

I gave up at least 5 times on starting a blog because I couldn’t find a creative name for it. Finally I decided I just need to take the plunge and the rest will just come together. Hence the current name! The reason I am talking about that here is because of “Banoffee”. Banana and toffee, Banoffee. See, Not everything needs to be ultra creative to sound nice!

This is such an “Every cloud has a silver lining” situation. Bananas help reducing stress. They’re a great source of Vitamin B6. So what if the pie has a little bit of fat. Eat your stress away!

Disclaimer: I am not a banana person. I am sort of like Goldilocks when it comes to bananas. I hate raw bananas, I hate it when its too ripe, it has to be just right. That perfect sweetness and a firm texture. Only then do I like bananas.

Now, About the pie. As a non banana lover, I urge you to try this pie. Its such an easy no bake, vegetarian dessert. And its quick. I was introduced to it by my sister in Bangalore. The pie was deliciously rich because of the caramel, yet light and creamy because of the whipped cream on top. The bananas were perfectly ripe and worked so well with the sweetness of the caramel. It was topped off with chocolate shavings, which according to me, didn’t add anything to the taste, but made it look prettier. Some versions of banoffee pie also include coffee. I wonder how that tastes. If you have tried it out, do let me know in the comments section. I imagined it to be a very complicated dessert to make because I had never loved a non chocolate dessert so much.

To make Banoffee pie, all you need is some Toffee/ dulce de leche (Link for quick dulce de leche below), bananas, whipped cream, crushed biscuits and butter. That is it! 5 ingredients, 30 mins and you have yourself a pie! 

IMG_9843

To make the pie, first melt some butter and mix it with some crushed biscuits.  The mixture should resemble coarse wet sand. 

Once you have the mix ready, press it against the base and half way up the sides of the pan. Set it in the refrigerator till the butter hardens. 

Meanwhile, smash some bananas with a fork and make a chunky puree. Set it aside. You can add some sugar to if if you’d like. 

img_9799.jpg
Sliced and smashed bananas

Also, whip up some cream with a little bit of sugar to stiff peaks. Set that aside in the refrigerator.

IMG_9786
Whipped cream

Once the base is set firm, take it out of the refrigerator, add the banana puree to the base. Spread the dulce de leche on top of the banana puree. You can add some cream to the dulce de leche if its too thick to spread.

IMG_9800
Chunky banana spread + Dulce de leech

The next layer is the sliced bananas. Place some thinly sliced bananas on top of the dulce de leche layer. 

IMG_7908
Sliced bananas on top of the dulce de leech

Top it off with a lot of whipped cream. 

IMG_7910
Whipped cream layer

You could also some grated chocolate. I would suggest dark chocolate because milk and white chocolate are too sweet.

IMG_7916

Recipe

IMG_7911

Prep time- 30 mins
Set time-30 mins + 2 hours

Butter, melted- 100 gms
biscuits, crushed- 150 gms
Smashed bananas
whipped cream
Dulce de leche
Sliced bananas
Shaved chocolate/ Cocoa powder (Optional)

For the crust, mix together the melted butter and the crushed biscuits. Press it against the base (7 cm diameter)  and sides of the pan and set it in the refrigerator for 30 mins.

Once the base sets hard, take it out, spread a layer of the chunky smashed bananas, then pipe the Dulce de leche over it. (I used the quick dulce de leche recipe for this).

Layer the bananas over it and finally the whipped cream. Dust the cocoa powder over it or sprinkle the chocolate shavings.

Set it in the fridge for 2 hours. Serve it as it is or with some delicious vanilla ice cream.

One thought on “Banoffee Pie

Leave a comment