Tender Coconut Pudding

 

APC_0767

I don’t know what it is, but I am not a big fan of tender coconuts. But I really like the flesh inside the tender coconut. And I love tender coconut puddings. I think I had it for the first time very reluctantly from this juice shop in Chennai. My sister offered it to me and I remember I was very apprehensive about having even 1 spoonful. I had maybe half a teaspoon and I ended up ordering one for myself. It had a mild tender coconut flavour. Very sweet, more like the flesh and not the water.

Recently I decided to make it for myself. Turns out it is really easy to make. Its basically a jelly. You need just 3 ingredients to make this dessert- Gelatine, Tender coconut water and flesh and some condensed milk.

First add the gelatine to some cold water and let it bloom. Set it aside for 15 minutes

Meanwhile, bring some tender coconut water and condensed milk to a boil.

APC_0762

Mix this with the gelatine mixture.

APC_0763

Pour this along with some chopped tender coconut flesh in a jelly mould. I chose a silicon mini bundt mould.

In about 6-8 hours your tender coconut pudding is ready. I love to serve it with some whipped cream.

Recipe:
Makes- 5 puddings (approx. 150 ml each)
Time- Prep 10 minutes + Setting 6 hours

APC_0767
Tender coconut water- 1.5 cups
Tender coconut flesh- 1/3 cup, chopped
Condensed milk- 1/4 cup
Water- 1/2 cup
Gelatine- 2 teaspoons

Sprinkle gelatine over cold water and let it sit for 15 minutes. Bring to a boil, the tender coconut water and condensed milk. Mix it with the gelatine. Stir to dissolve the gelatine. Put some chopped tender coconut flesh at the bottom of the jelly moulds. Pour gelatine mixture over the tender coconut flesh. Let it set in the fridge for atleast 6 hours. Serve with some whipped cream or vanilla ice cream or enjoy as it is.

Leave a comment